Press



Contact us if you want an access to the press area

Artists' space



Contact us if you want an access to the press area

Julie Buffard-Moret et Agathe Lartigue

From Sunday 1 September to Friday 29 November 2019


These past fifteen years, the heightened awareness that has placed the Anthropocene at the centre of humanity’s concerns, combined with the appearance of the theoretical current of speculative realism (1), has led many artists to newly question our place in the world and our certainties about what is and is not natural. This is where the venture of Agathe Lartigue and Julie Buffard-Moret—two artists who recently decided to work together—is precisely situated, when humans decide to decode a world constructed in a certain way consciously or unconsciously, in order to assess its flaws, and maybe start again from scratch. The artists, one of whom combines sculpture, written stories and theoretical research, the other inclining towards scriptwriting and playwriting, wanted to explore the history of wildlife documentaries through the prism of the publication of a critical and poetic review entitled Cubs and an online database assembling archive documents, films, and plastic experiments.

Often treated as a sub-genre in film studies, the wildlife documentary remains an excellent testament to humans’ perspective on their environment, and to the arguments and representations they tend to construct about something that is beyond them. The artists’ analytical method consists in understanding what is at stake in this type of documentary by always questioning the context in which it appeared (at which point in history), while trying to imagine what the “wildlife documentary” object could become today, and what place it might occupy in the field of art. The residency period in Lindre-Basse will enable them to conceptualise and write the first issue of this review, which they hope will be collaborative, combining several fields of research like philosophy, cinema, architecture... and art of course. Being speculative, Cubs review will not be reduced to a purely scientific result, but will give free rein to poetry, bricolage and experimentation. The review format thus proves to be a suitable tool for bringing people together, generating situations that will result in multiple forms.

At the end of their residency, the artists will present the current state of their research: they will describe their ornithological discoveries in the Lorraine Regional Natural Park, their meetings with wildlife specialists, and will present the materials collected so far (such as texts, images and film extracts), pending future publishing projects.

 


(1) A philosophical current that appeared in 2007, challenging the dominant anthropocentrism of Western culture, in order to concentrate on the points of view of other living beings and the non-living.

 

The artist residency programme is organised by the CAC - la synagogue de Delme in collaboration with the Lorraine Regional Natural Park and the village of Lindre-Basse.

 

Julie Buffard-Moret - Since obtaining her diploma at the Villa Arson National School of Fine Arts in 2015, Julie’s research work has been centered around the leopard pattern. This project tutored by Patricia Falguières and recently defended at the EHESS is currently evolving towards a publicated form. Since 2016, she is also working with the artist Raphael Emine on the project Dédale des humeurs, a creative research process on weather based around sculpture installations and digital storytelling.

Agathe Lartigue - Graduating from the Villa Arson National School of Fine Arts in 2015, Agathe has since moved from positions in audiovisual media, institutional film companies and cinema, to currently assisting film projects in their writing stages in both fiction and documentary, as well as developing her own screenplays and videographer activity.

 

 

Friday 29 November 2019 - 6.30PM
The CAC – la synagogue de Delme invites you to the open studio of Julie Buffard-Moret et Agathe Lartigue on Friday 29th November at 6.30 pm at 10b rue des cigognes, Lindre-Basse.   Often treated as a sub-genre in film studies, the wildlife documentary remains an excellent testament to humans’ perspective on their environment, and to the arguments and...

Lire la suite

Espace Presse



Contactez-nous si vous souhaitez obtenir un accès presse

Espace Artiste



Contactez-nous si vous souhaitez obtenir un accès artiste

Julie Buffard-Moret et Agathe Lartigue

Du Dimanche 1 Septembre au Vendredi 29 Novembre 2019


Ces quinze dernières années, la prise de conscience ayant placée l’anthropocène au centre des inquiétudes de l’humanité, conjuguée à l’apparition du courant théorique du Réalisme spéculatif (1), ont amené de nombreux artistes à requestionner notre place dans le monde ainsi que nos certitudes quant à ce qui est naturel et ce qui ne l’est pas. L’entreprise d’Agathe Lartigue et Julie Buffard-Moret, deux artistes ayant récemment décidé de travailler ensemble, se trouve exactement là, lorsque l’humain cherche à décoder un monde construit dans un certain sens, consciemment ou non, afin d’en mesurer les failles et peut-être, de repartir de zéro. L’une alliant sculpture, écriture de récits et recherches théoriques, l’autre orientée vers la scénarisation et la dramaturgie, elles ont souhaité se pencher sur l’histoire du documentaire animalier par le prisme de l’édition d’une revue critique et poétique intitulée Cubs (en anglais le bébé de certains animaux carnivores) et d’une base de données en ligne, groupant documents d’archives, films et expériences plastiques. 

Souvent considéré comme un sous-genre dans les études cinématographiques, le documentaire animalier demeure un excellent témoin du regard porté par les hommes sur leur environnement, et des discours comme des représentations qu’ils ont tendance à construire sur ce qui les dépassent. La méthode analytique des artistes consiste à en comprendre les enjeux en questionnant toujours leur contexte d’apparition (à quel moment de l’histoire tel documentaire est apparu), tout en cherchant à imaginer ce que l’objet « documentaire animalier » pourrait devenir aujourd’hui, et quelle place celui-ci pourrait avoir dans le champs de l’art. Le temps de résidence à Lindre-Basse leur permettra de conceptualiser et composer le premier numéro de cette revue qu’elles souhaitent collaborative, au carrefour de plusieurs domaines de recherches tels que la philosophie, le cinéma, l’architecture… et bien sûr l’art. De nature spéculative, la revue Cubs ne se réduira pas à un résultat purement scientifique mais laissera libre court à la poésie, au bricolage et à l’expérimentation. Le format de la revue s’avère ainsi un outil adéquat de rencontre afin de générer des situations qui aboutiront à de multiples formes.

A l’issue de leur résidence, les artistes présenteront l’état de leurs recherches : elles rendront compte de leur découverte sur l’ornithologie au sein du Parc naturel régional de Lorraine, de leurs rencontres avec des spécialistes animaliers et présenteront les matériaux qu’elles auront collectés jusqu’ici (collection de textes, d’images, extraits de films…), dans l’attente de leurs futurs travaux éditoriaux.

 

 

(1) Courant philosophique apparu en 2007, ayant pour objet une remise en cause de l’anthropocentrisme dominant de la culture occidentale, afin de se concentrer sur le points de vue des autres êtres vivants et des non vivants.

 

Le programme de résidence d’artistes est organisé en collaboration avec le Parc Naturel Régional de Lorraine et la commune de Lindre-Basse.

 

Julie Buffard-Moret — Depuis son diplôme obtenu à la Villa Arson en 2015, Julie poursuit une recherche autour du motif léopard. Ce projet, tutoré par Patricia Falguières et soutenu à l’EHESS en juin dernier est actuellement en cours d’évolution vers une publication. Depuis 2016 elle collabore également avec l’artiste Raphaël Emine à la conception du Dédale des humeurs, un processus de recherche évolutif autour de la météo qui mêle installations de sculptures et récits numériques. 
 
Agathe Lartigue— Diplômée de la Villa Arson en 2015 et passée par des postes de production audiovisuelle pour l’institutionnel et le cinéma, Agathe accompagne aujourd’hui l’écriture de longs-métrage en documentaire et fiction. Elle développe également ses propres scénarios et poursuit une activité de vidéaste. 
 

 

Vendredi 29 Novembre 2019 - 18H30
Le centre d’art contemporain – la synagogue de Delme vous invite à l'ouverture d’atelier des artistes Julie Buffard-Moret et Agathe Lartigue le vendredi 29 novembre à 18h30 au 10b rue des cigognes à Lindre-Basse.   Souvent considéré comme un sous-genre dans les études cinématographiques, le...

Lire la suite